Integration & Application Network

Alumni

Get to know our alumni staff and students and see what they are up to today.

IAN Administration

Heather Lane
Environmental Policy Analyst
Annapolis Synthesis Center
hlane@umces.edu

Dr Tim Carruthers
Director of Coastal Ecology
The Water Institute of the Gulf
tcarruthers@thewaterinstitute.org

Susan Collins
Accountant
UMCES Center Administration
scollins@umces.edu

Karen Luffman
Chief Finance Officer
Town of Centreville
kluffman@townofcentreville.org

Connie Musgrove
Advisor to the President/Senior Research Coordinator
UMCES Annapolis Office
musgrove@umces.edu

IAN Science Integrators and Communicators

Dr. Adrian Jones
Web Developer
Visual Science
adrian@visualscience.ca

Jane Thomas
Science Communicator
Northern Australia Environmental Resources Hub
jane.thomas@cdu.edu.au

Jane Hawkey
Senior Science Communicator
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
hawkey@umces.edu

Joanna Woerner
Web and Social Media Analyst
Indiana University Health
joanna.woerner@gmail.com

Tracey Saxby
Project Manager
Visual Science
tracey@visualscience.ca

Dr. Michael Williams
Associate Research Scientist
UMCES' Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
mwilliams@umces.edu

Dr. Ben Fertig
Assistant Professor
Community College of Baltimore County, School of Math and Science
bfertig@ccbcmd.edu

Kris Beckert
Associate Pastor
Real Life Chapel
reallifechapel2008@yahoo.com

Kate Bentsen
Science Communicator
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
kbentsen@umces.edu

Rebecca Most
Science Communicator
University of Hawaii at Hilo
rebeccamost@gmail.com

Kate Boicourt
Restoration Coordinator
NY-NJ Harbor & Estuary Program Office
habitat@harborestuary.org

Allison Dungan
Associate Outreach Specialist
Nutrient Cycling and Agroecosystems Laboratory, University of Wisconsin-Madison
adungan@umces.edu

Catherine Ward
Science Communication Assistant
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
cward@umces.edu

Christina Lyerly
Maryland Department of the Environment
christinalyerly@gmail.com

Dr. Jonathan Kellogg
Science Integrator
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
jkellogg@umces.edu

IAN Graduate Students, Interns and Summer Students

Anthony Kung
Visiting Ph.D. Student
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
akung@umces.edu

Emily Benson
Science Communication Intern
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
ebenson@umces.edu

Lisa Florkowski
Masters Student
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
florkowski@umces.edu

Nicole Lehmer
Science Communication Intern
nlehmer@umces.edu

Dan Levey
Science Communication Intern
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
dlevey@umces.edu

Lucy Van Essen-Fishman
PhD in Classics / Stipendiary Lecturer in Classics
The Queen's College
lucy.vanessen-fishman@bnc.ox.ac.uk

Kim Kraeer
Science Communication Intern
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

Alexandra Schwaab
Science Communication Intern
UMCES Annapolis Office
aschwaab@umces.edu

Madeline Kelsey
Science Communication Intern
UMCES Annapolis Office
mkelsey@ca.umces.edu

Ben Wahle
Science Communication Intern
bwahle@ca.umces.edu

Sabbatical Visitors

Professor Michael Douglas
Director, National Environmental Research Program
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
mdouglas@umces.edu

Dr. Samantha Setterfield
Associate Professor, Environmental Management and Ecology
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
ssetterfield@umces.edu

EcoCheck

Dr. Ben Longstaff
Manager Integrated Watershed Management
Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
B.Longstaff@lsrca.on.ca

Xinsheng Zhang
Ecosystem Modeler
Cooperative Oxford Laboratory
Xinsheng.Zhang@noaa.gov

Emily Nauman
Communications Specialist/Consultant to GE Aviation
Sogeti USA
naumaneg@gmail.com

Sara Powell
Monitoring & Communications Manager
Nine Mile Run Watershed Association
sarap@ninemilerun.org

Melissa Andreychek
Assistant Director of Communications
A. James Clark School of Engineering
mandreyc@umd.edu

Christine Thurber
Science Communication Intern
Cooperative Oxford Laboratory
Christine.Thurber@noaa.gov

Partnership with State Agencies

Marcus Griswold
Water Resources Scientist
Natural Resources Defense Council

Jeff Allenby
Director of Conservation Innovation
Chesapeake Conservancy
jallenby@chesapeakeconservancy.org

Kate Skaggs
CoastSmart Communities Planner
Department of Natural Resources
kskaggs@dnr.state.md.us

Dr Megean Garvin
Program Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education
mgarvin@umces.edu

Larissa Johnson
Energy Manager
Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection
larissa.johnson@maryland.gov

Chesapeake Bay Program

David Jasinski
Data Analyst
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
djasinsk@chesapeakebay.net

Katie Hopkins
Annapolis Eastport Sales
Kate@lnf.com

Sewelo Keleagetse
Regional Information Manager
Wachs Utility Services

Dr. Ping Wang
Senior Research Scientist (CIMS)
Chesapeake Bay Program Office
pwang@chesapeakebay.net

Katie Foreman
Physical Scientist
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Ground Water and Drinking Water
foreman.katherine@epa.gov

Dr. Jing Wu
Assistant Research Scientist
Chesapeake Bay Program Office
jwu@chesapeakebay.net

Guido Andres Yactayo
Watershed Data Modeling Specialist
Chesapeake Bay Program Office
gyactayo@chesapeakebay.net

Dr. Jeni Keisman
Biologist
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
jkeisman@usgs.gov

Liza Hernandez
Tidal Monitoring Analyst
Chesapeake Bay Program Office
lhernandez@chesapeakebay.net

Mindy Ehrich
STAR Team Analyst
Chesapeake Bay Program
mehrich@chesapeakebay.net

Zachary Friedman
Web Designer
Chesapeake Bay Program Office
zfriedman@chesapeakebay.net