Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors provides advice and counsel to the President on matters pertaining to public outreach, development and policy issues.

Through their involvement, the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science is able to ensure it continues to meet its legislatively defined mission to conduct a comprehensive program to develop and apply predictive ecology for Maryland to the improvement and preservation of the physical environment.

In pursuing this mission, UMCES plays a key role in advancing knowledge in support of Maryland’s international reputation for progressive environmental management and sustainable economic development.

2014 Board of Visitors

Mr. Charles O. Monk II, Chair
Partner, Saul Ewing LLP

Mr. Paul J. Allen
     Senior Vice President (Retired), Constellation Energy 

Mr. Thomas L. Buckmaster
     President, Honeywell Hometown Solutions

Ms. Victoria Childs
     President, Friends of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum

Mr. James E. Connell
     President, James E. Connell & Associates

Mr. Mike Dreisbach
    Proprietor, Savage River Lodge

Dr. Paul Fischer
     President & CEO (Retired), GenVec 

Mr. Francis E. Gardiner, Jr.
     President, Gardiner Realty and Development Company

Mr. Donald Graf
    Executive Engineer, MPR Associates, Inc.

Mr. Ronald Kreitner, 
     WestSide Renaissance, Inc.

Mr. Thomas Lingan
    Partner at Venable

Mr. William McAllister, Jr.
     Principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

Mr. Jonathan Murray
     The Murray Group

Mr. C. E. Peck
     CEO and Chairman (Retired), Ryland Group, Inc.

Mr. John Porcari
     Senior Vice President Parsons Brinckerhoff

Ms. Kathy Quattrone
     Broadcast Executive, Co-Owner Chesapeake Seasons

Ms. Eileen Straughan
     President, Straughan Environmental, Inc.

Mr. David W. Wallace, PE
     Partner Emeritus, RK&K Engineers.

*The Honoroable Harry Hughes, Chair Emeritus
    Former Governor, State of Maryland