Alfred P. S. Research Fellowshir

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2015 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Since 1955, Sloan Research Fellows have gone on to win 43 Nobel Prizes, 16 Fields Medals, 65 National Medals of Science, 14 John Bates Clark Medals, and numerous other distinguished awards.

CHEMISTRY

Nandini Ananth

Cornell University

Shannon Boettcher

University of Oregon

Kevin Brown

Indiana University

James Cahoon

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Brandi Cossairt

University of Washington

Jennifer A. Dionne

Stanford University

Aaron Esser-Kahn University of California, Irvine

Zahra Fakhraai

University of Pennsylvania

Alison Fout

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Danna Freedman

Northwestern University

Naomi Ginsberg

University of California, Berkeley

Artur Izmaylov

University of Toronto

Hemamala Karunadasa

Stanford University

Amber Krummel

Colorado State University

Thomas Maimone

University of California, Berkeley

Neal Mankad

University of Illinois at Chicago

Michael Neidig

University of Rochester

Bradley Pentelute Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Michael Pluth

University of Oregon

Jennifer Prescher

University of California, Irvine

Toru Shiozaki Northwestern University

Andrea Tao

University of California, San Diego

Hao Xu

Georgia State University

COMPUTATIONAL & **EVOLUTIONARY MOLECULAR BIOLOGY**

Alan Boyle

University of Michigan

Ian Ehrenreich

University of Southern California

Mitchell Guttman

California Institute of Technology

Michael Harms

University of Oregon

Jennifer Phillips-Cremins University of Pennsylvania

Peter Ralph

University of Southern California

Padmini Rangamani

University of California, San Diego

Michael C. Schatz

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Corina E. Tarnita

Princeton University

Cole Trapnell

University of Washington

Harris Wang Columbia University

Amv Williams Cornell University

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Ryan Adams

Harvard University

Sébastien Bubeck

Princeton University

University of Texas, Austin

Prabal Dutta

University of Michigan

Natalie Enright Jerger

University of Toronto **Emily Fox**

University of Washington

Shyam Gollakota

University of Washington

J. Alex Halderman University of Michigan

James Hays

Brown University

Percy Liang

Stanford University

Shachar Lovett University of California, San Diego

Ariel Procaccia

Carnegie Mellon University

Thomas Ristenpart

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Aaron Roth

University of Pennsylvania

Thomas Rothvoss

University of Washington

Daniel Wigdor University of Toronto

ECONOMICS

Eric Budish

The University of Chicago

Benjamin Handel

University of California, Berkeley Oleg Itskhoki

Princeton University

Greg Kaplan Princeton University

Magne Mogstad

The University of Chicago

Suresh Naidu

Columbia University

Paul Niehaus

University of California, San Diego

Heidi L. Williams

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

MATHEMATICS

Ben Adcock Simon Fraser University

Richard Bamler

University of California, Berkeley

Jacob Bedrossian University of Maryland, College Park

Boris Bukh Carnegie Mellon University

Jonathan Chaika

University of Utah

Jian Ding The University of Chicago

Jörn Dunkel

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David Geraghty Boston College

Columbia University

Tasho Kaletha Harvard University

Jennifer Hom

Lin Lin

Emmy Murphy

Vivek Shende

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Berkeley **Andrew Snowden**

University of Michigan Jacob Tsimerman

University of Toronto

Vlad Vicol Princeton University

Melanie Matchett Wood

University of Wisconsin, Madison Hau-tieng Wu

University of Toronto Ting Zhou

Northeastern University Xinwen Zhu California Institute of Technology

NEUROSCIENCE

Helen Bateup University of California, Berkeley

Steve Chang

Yale University

Damon Clark Yale University

John Cunningham

Columbia University

Lindsey Glickfeld Duke University

Viviana Gradinaru California Institute of Technology

Michael Halassa New York University

Shantanu Jadhav

Brandeis University

Julie Lefebvre University of Toronto

Polina V. Lishko University of California, Berkeley

Brian J. O'Roak Oregon Health & Science University

Stephanie Palmer The University of Chicago

University of California, San Diego

Marcos Sotomayor Ohio State University

Bradley Voytek

Melissa Warden Cornell University

Jeffrey M. Yau

Baylor College of Medicine

OCEAN SCIENCES

Danielle Dixson

Georgia Institute of Technology

Jennifer Jacquet New York University

Karen G. Lloyd

University of Tennessee

Douglas McCauley

Christopher Reinhard

University of California, Santa Barbara

Georgia Institute of Technology Alyson Santoro

University of Maryland Center for **Environmental Science**

Themistoklis Sapsis Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stephanie Waterman

University of British Columbia

PHYSICS

Christine A. Aidala University of Michigan

Ariel Amir Harvard University

James Analytis University of California, Berkeley

Alyson Brooks

Pascal Audet University of Ottawa

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Fiona Burnell University of Minnesota

Shane Davis

University of Virginia Lukasz Fidkowski

Stony Brook University Raphael Flauger

Carnegie Mellon University Ryan Foley

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Mohammad Hafezi

University of Maryland, College Park **Gregg Hallinan**

California Institute of Technology

Michael Kesden

Heather Knutson

California Institute of Technology

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

University of Texas at Dallas

Thomas E. Kuhlman

Rice University Vladimir Manucharyan

University of Maryland, College Park Kater Murch

University of California, Los Angeles

Washington University in St. Louis Smadar Naoz

Kang-Kuen Ni Harvard University

Tiffany A. Shaw Columbia University

Kai Sun University of Michigan

Pedro Vieira University of Waterloo



pioneer, the individual who has the courage, the ambition to overcome the obstacles that always develop when one tries to do something worthwhile, especially when it is new and different. (Alfred P. Sloan Jr., 1941) The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grantmaking institution that supports original research and education in

Too often we fail to recognize and pay tribute to the creative spirit. It is that spirit that creates our jobs... There has to be this

science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics. www.sloan.org