Appalachian Laboratory Inspiration Award

About the Award

The Appalachian Laboratory of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science was established in 1962 in Allegany County, Maryland. In the sixty years since, the Laboratory has served as a leading scientific institution in western Maryland, conducting research, advising state leaders, and training the next generation of scientists.    
In recognition of its 60th anniversary, the Laboratory is establishing the Appalachian Laboratory Inspiration Award to recognize those in our regional community who share our commitment to future generations by supporting or engaging in activities to promote and advance science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) in our region.  The award will be presented annually.
Nomination process:
The nomination period is open from September 22, 2022, to October 21, 2022. To nominate an individual or organization, complete the Inspiration Award nomination form below by Friday, October 21.   
The award will be presented at a special spring ceremony.  
  • Both individuals and organizations (private, public, or non-governmental) are eligible.  
  • Nominees must be engaged in or supporting programming in the Laboratory’s defined region, which includes western Maryland and surrounding areas in Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Western Maryland is defined as Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties in Maryland; the surrounding area is defined as Bedford, Fulton, and Somerset counties in Pennsylvania or Mineral, Morgan, Preston, and Hampshire counties in West Virginia.
Rhonda Schwinabart, Coordinator of Outreach 

Nomination Form: