UMCES Ph.D. Candidates Named Finalists for 2024 Knauss Policy Fellowship Program

November 2, 2023

Paulina Huanca-Valenzuela and Carol Kim, both Ph.D. Candidates in the Horn Point Laboratory at the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Research, have been selected as finalists for the 2024 John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship Program.

"I'm excited to have been selected as a Knauss Sea Grant Fellow and given this amazing opportunity to work as a NOAA Ocean Exploration Policy Fellow in the upcoming year," said Kim. "This fellowship will allow me to gain exposure to the policy and decision-making process as well as build long-term relationships with an extensive network of people. I'm looking forward to gaining a new perspective on potential career options and honing my ability to effectively communicate scientific research to a broader audience.

Huanca-Valenzuela echoed that sentiment. "The Knauss Fellowship constitutes an incredible opportunity to continue developing my professional career and learning about communication," she said. "As a Knauss Fellow, I will work in the NOAA Communications office. I am excited about the future and about this new professional challenge.”

About the program

The 85 Knauss finalists, who represent 30 of the 34 Sea Grant programs and 66 universities, were selected through a competitive process including a comprehensive review at both the state and national levels. Finalists must be currently enrolled in, or have recently completed a master’s, Juris Doctor, or Ph.D. program with a focus and/or interest in marine and coastal science, policy, or management. 

Sea Grant, established by the U.S. Congress in 1966, works to create and maintain a healthy coastal environment and economy. The network consists of federal-university partnerships between the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and 34 university-based programs in every coastal and Great Lakes state, Puerto Rico and Guam. The program has provided a year-long Knauss fellowship to over 1600 early career professionals who bring their diverse perspectives to positions in the executive and legislative branches of government.

For more information, please visit