Presidential Search and Screening Committee

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

Presidential Search and Screening Committee 

University System of Maryland (USM) Chancellor Jay A. Perman has appointed—and the USM Board of Regents has approved—the Search and Screening Committee for the president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES), one of the university system's 12 institutions.

UMCES President Peter Goodwin announced earlier this year that he will be departing in September. Longtime UMCES vice president Bill Dennison has been appointed interim president and will serve in that capacity until a permanent replacement is named.

The University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science is a leading research and educational institution working to understand and manage the world’s resources. UMCES provides sound scientific advice to help state and national leaders manage the environment and prepares future scientists to meet the global challenges of the 21st century through its network of four regional laboratories—the Appalachian Laboratory in Frostburg, the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory in Solomons, the Horn Point Laboratory in Cambridge, and the Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology in Baltimore—and the Integration and Application Network and Maryland Sea Grant College.

In beginning the search for President Goodwin’s replacement, the USM is committed to finding a successor to build upon UMCES’ strength in education and research, its commitment to service, and its global leadership. The committee's work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection.

The members of the committee are:

Kevin Atticks, Search Committee Chair, Regent, University System of Maryland
Kandis Boyd, Special Advisor to the Regional Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
Mark Bryer, Program Director, Chesapeake Bay Programs, The Nature Conservancy
Emily Cohen, Assistant Professor, Appalachian Laboratory, UMCES
Lois Colaprete, Vice President for Advancement, UMCES
Jeanette Davis, Author and Assistant Professor, Hampton University
Suzanne Dorsey, Deputy Secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment
Gary Epstein, Chair-Elect, UMCES Board of Visitors
Alexandra Fries, Chair, Faculty Research Assistant Council, Integration and Application Network, UMCES
Lora Harris, Professor, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, UMCES
Russell Hill, Professor and Executive Director, Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology, UMCES
Essala Lowe, Vice President for Administration and Finance, UMCES
Serena Coleman McIlwain, Secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment
Fredrika Moser, Director, Maryland Sea Grant College, UMCES
Robert Neall, former Secretary, Maryland Department of Health & former Regent, University System of Maryland
Jamie Pierson, Associate Professor and Faculty Senate Vice Chair, Horn Point Laboratory, UMCES
Bob Rauch, Regent, University System of Maryland
Isabel Sanchez-Viruet, Graduate Student Council Co-Chair, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, UMCES
Eric Schott, Associate Research Professor, Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology, UMCES
Michael Scott, Dean, Henson School, Salisbury University
Mario Tamburri, Professor and Director, Alliance for Coastal Technologies, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, UMCES
Amitabh Varshney, Dean, College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Science, University of Maryland, College Park
Xin Zhang, Associate Professor, Appalachian Laboratory, UMCES