Appalachian Laboratory

Johnson Environmental Education Award

2019 Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award Winner Craig Hartsock

Johnson Award Nominations 2020

Nominations for the 2020 Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award will open in October 2019. Nominations can be submitted through email to Rhonda Schwinabart at, via the nomination webform, or by mailing materials to the following address: Attn: Rhonda Schwinabart, Appalachian Laboratory, 301 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, 21532. 

The Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award honors those who mentor and inspire our citizens and future leaders in environmental science and stewardship; recognizes excellence in environmental education and in the research and public service that supports environmental education; and enhances environmental education opportunities for students of all ages. Nominees are limited to those who have made a noteworthy impact on environmental education in Allegany and Garrett Counties. 

Nominators will be invited to attend an informal meeting with the selection committee in mid-November.   

Please contact Rhonda Schwinabart at 301-689-7102 or with any award-related questions.