Appalachian Laboratory Seeks Nominations for the 2023 Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award

February 21, 2023
Dr. Richard Johnson

The Appalachian Laboratory of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science is currently seeking nominations of outstanding individuals, organizations, or projects for its 2023 Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award. Recipients of the award receive a monetary prize to advance the environmental education efforts of their choice and a plaque commemorating their achievements during a special event in August. Nominees are limited to those who have made a noteworthy impact on environmental education in Allegany and Garrett Counties.

The Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award honors those who mentor and inspire our citizens and future leaders in environmental science and stewardship; recognizes excellence in environmental education and in the research and public service that supports environmental education; and enhances environmental education opportunities for students of all ages.

Recent past winners of the Richard A. Johnson Environmental Education Award include Francis “Champ” Zumbrun, Craig Hartsock, and Liz McDowell. Learn more about their environmental education contributions and those of other past winners at

To nominate an individual, organization, or project, please describe (in 200 words or less) why your nominee is deserving of the Richard Johnson Environmental Education Award.  Nominations can be submitted online via our web form at, emailed to, or mailed to “Attn: Rhonda Schwinabart, UMCES-Appalachian Laboratory, 301 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD 21532.” 

The deadline for submission is 5:00 pm on Friday, March 31, 2023.

Following the submission process, nominators (or an alternate familiar with the nominee) will participate in a 15-minute, in-person, informal conversation with the award selection committee during their meeting at the Appalachian Laboratory in Frostburg in mid-April.  Nominators will be contacted in early April to schedule their time with the committee.    

For more information about the Richard Johnson Environmental Education Award visit or contact Rhonda Schwinabart, Coordinator of Outreach, at 301-689-7102 or