UMCES graduates next generation of environmental leaders

May 25, 2022
The University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES) held its annual Commencement on Tuesday, May 24, featuring the conferral of master's and doctorate degrees, distinguished speakers and university awards, and keynote speaker Dr. Deborah Bronk (MEES Ph.D. '92), oceanographer and President and CEO of the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences.

8th Ryan Saba Memorial Student Fellowship Awarded

May 22, 2022
The Horn Point Laboratory (HPL) awarded the 8th Ryan Saba Memorial Student Fellowship to open the student seminar program on Friday, May 6. The annual award of the Fellowship honors Ryan’s boundless curiosity about nature and life and his zest for making each day better than yesterday. This year’s recipient is PhD student, Catherine Fitzgerald.

Explore the World of Marine Science, Tour the Horn Point Laboratory

May 22, 2022
Dive into science and see the Bay the Horn Point way! Every Tuesday at 10:00 am from Memorial Day through Labor Day tours will be offered to lead you through the amazing world of marine science taking place at the Horn Point Laboratory (HPL). Free and open to the public, these 90-minute walking tours are led by Horn Point Lab’s graduate students. For more information, 410-221-8383 or email

Addressing the heart of the matter: Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology funds research for Horn Point Faculty

April 28, 2022
Hughes Center has funded two projects that will lend insight into pressing Chesapeake issues; generating reliable oyster production to enhance economic growth in aquaculture and understanding factors that can help farmers turn challenges into opportunities with climate change.

Alumni Q&A: Dr. Deborah Bronk MEES ‘92

April 26, 2022
Dr. Deborah Bronk is president and CEO of the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Science in Maine. She has conducted more than 50 research cruises and field studies in freshwater and marine environments that stretch from pole to pole during her three decades of experience as an oceanographer. In December 2020, she was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and recognized for her substantial research advances on the marine nitrogen cycle and for leadership in the ocean science research community.